Plum Insight Documentation
survey_manager

Survey Manager

Overview

The Survey Manager is the epicenter of Plum Insight. Here users can create, edit, and delete surveys, run survey reports, or share surveys with other users in your organization's account. Any surveys that you create or that others share with you display in the survey manager list. You can sort the list of surveys by name or last save date. The search function for this section and supports live search by name.

Clicking on "Create New Survey" prompts users to establish basic survey settings (name, language, speech enabled) and launches the survey editor. NOTE: Only users with permission to create surveys may do so. For users who cannot create surveys a list of surveys shared with with account appears.

The icon to the left of the survey name indicates whether that survey is locked or unlocked . Clicking on the icon toggles this feature. Locking a survey adds an extra safeguard because it prevents users from making changes to a survey or its data until the survey is unlocked.

Shared surveys can be identified by the shared icon and can only be locked by the survey's creator.

The most common actions available for surveys display by default in the survey list . Clicking on the arrow to the right of the action icons displays a full list of available actions . Clicking the arrow icon again hides the menu and returns to the default list of actions.

The full list of available actions in Insight include:

  • Edit - Opens the survey editor.
  • Deploy - Opens the deployment page for that specific survey (see: Deployment).
  • Report - Opens a dialog window that allows users to run reports on a survey.
  • Share - Opens a dialog window that allows users to share a survey with other users within their account.
  • Clone - Clones the survey.
  • Clear - Clear all respondent data for a survey without making any changes to the survey itself.
  • Delete - Deletes the survey and all associated respondent data.

NOTE: Not all users not allowed to share surveys. This is determined by a users permission settings. Surveys that are shared with you will show all of their available actions. However, those actions are limited by two different factors: 1. the permissions that were granted when the survey was shared with you (see: Sharing Surveys), and 2. your account specific “create” and “share” permissions (see: Account Manager - User Permissions). Only the direct owner of a shared survey can edit or delete it.

Locking Surveys

Locking a survey provides extra protection by preventing anyone from making changes to it. This is useful when a survey is deployed and running in production. Locking a survey also prevents you from clearing the respondent data or deleting the survey entirely.

In order to lock a survey click on the “unlocked” icon . This opens a dialog window that asks users to re-enter their password.

Entering the correct password locks the survey, as indicated by the “locked” icon . Locking a survey disables its Edit, Clear and Delete icons.

To unlock a survey click on the locked icon and enter your password. This returns the survey to the unlocked state and all available actions become active again.

Sharing Surveys

Accounts with sharing enabled can share surveys with anyone within their organization's account. Users can only share surveys that they own. Surveys that are shared with you must first be cloned. The cloned survey can then be shared with another user. Clicking on the share icon brings up the share dialog window:

Enter the email address(es) of the user(s) within your organization's account to share a survey with them. After adding the user(s), survey owners have the option to grant additional permissions to the other users.

Users with permission to create surveys automatically have the “clone” permission for their surveys. When sharing surveys, survey owners can opt for granular control over all other permissions (Deploy, Audio, and Report). These settings allow creators to limit survey access to the specific tasks or needs they need others to perform.

For example, if one user is solely responsible for managing the prompt recordings for phone surveys, then it makes sense to give them “Manage Audio” access to the survey so that they can access the list of prompts and upload/replace audio files as needed.

Sharing with “Deploy Survey” access allows others to publish the survey to a specific phone number and to manage the outbound dialing queue for the survey (see: Deployment).

Sharing with “Create Reports” access gives others full access to all respondent data with no restrictions (to share a subset of respondent data see: Reporting).

Cloning Surveys

Cloning a survey is a useful feature if you would like to make changes to a survey that is already deployed and locked without compromising the data already collected or otherwise impacting the survey.

To clone a survey click the “clone” icon . This brings up a dialog window that requires users to provide a new name for the survey clone.

After providing a unique name for the new survey clone, click “Submit” and the new survey appears in the list of surveys.

Clearing Survey Data

To clear out any respondent data that a deployed survey has collected click on the “clear” icon . This presents users with a confirmation window. Click “Yes” to clear the data from the survey or click “Close” to cancel.

After clearing a survey's data, the data also disappears from all reports associated with that survey.

Deleting Surveys

To delete a survey click on the “delete” icon . This presents users with a confirmation window. Click “Yes” to delete the survey and all associated data or click “Close” to cancel. Deleting a survey also deletes all reports associated with that survey.

Importing Surveys and Data

Exporting a survey from the legacy Plum Survey platform, does not include the survey's data. This allows users to fully test the survey in Plum Insight and to upload new voice prompts, if necessary. It's recommended to wait to import Plum Survey response data until the new survey is ready for production in Plum Insight.

To import survey data click on the “import” icon . This presents users with a dialog window that asks them to confirm the import of the existing data. Click “Yes” to import the data or click “Close” to cancel the import.


survey_manager.txt · Last modified: 2016/07/27 16:39 by jason